Bug #3775

deleted VMs are canceled asynchronously, host/ip resources already shown as freed before releasing them

Added by Rolandas Naujikas over 5 years ago. Updated over 4 years ago.

Status:ClosedStart date:04/27/2015
Priority:NormalDue date:
Assignee:-% Done:

0%

Category:Core & System
Target version:Release 5.0
Resolution:fixed Pull request:
Affected Versions:OpenNebula 4.12

Description

When deleting big number of VMs in a host we found, that VMs are canceled asynchronously.
We saw host resources and/or IP adresses freed when VM is still running.
Users could submit new VMs using those resources still in progress to be freed.


Related issues

Related to Feature #3654: Implement extra VM state transitions Closed 03/06/2015
Related to Feature #3801: Revisit delete operation Closed 05/07/2015

Associated revisions

Revision 058e23c3
Added by Ruben S. Montero over 4 years ago

feature #3801, bug #3775: Delete operation is now under the recover
interface for admin. New terminate operation can be used in any "final"
state for end-users.

History

#1 Updated by Carlos Martín over 5 years ago

  • Related to Feature #3654: Implement extra VM state transitions added

#2 Updated by Ruben S. Montero over 5 years ago

  • Target version set to Release 4.14

#3 Updated by Ruben S. Montero over 5 years ago

  • Status changed from Pending to Closed
  • Resolution set to worksforme

Hi Rolandas,

If you need to sync the delete of a VM use the shutdown method. Delete is mend to be asynchronous and to be used in very special situation where a host is down, stuck or similar.

Cheers

#4 Updated by Rolandas Naujikas almost 5 years ago

We had serious problem with delete in 4.12. VM was created and in the middle of starting - deleted. VM was still running, but opennebula thought resources are not in use. After new VM was created and same IP/MAC allocated. The solution to use shutdown(hard) don't work, because VM should be in the running state. We should probably add synchronous delete action for users.

#5 Updated by Ruben S. Montero almost 5 years ago

  • Status changed from Closed to Pending
  • Target version changed from Release 4.14 to Release 5.0

Re-open to re-evalute it for next release.

#6 Updated by Carlos Martín almost 5 years ago

#7 Updated by Ruben S. Montero over 4 years ago

  • Status changed from Pending to Closed
  • Resolution changed from worksforme to fixed

This issue is now fixed, we have implemented a terminate action which acts as a sync delete operation on any final state. The previous delete operation is now under the recover interface for admins.

Also available in: Atom PDF